Chatuchak Market: organized insanity

Like any good gallivanting mother, Momalot wanted to buy a few stereotypically Thai trinkets for her brood back at home. In a moment of blind stupidity, I suggested that we check out Chatuchak Market. Chatuchak is located across town from us, which in Bangkok terms means that it’s basically in another galaxy. However, it is probably the biggest market in Thailand, and maybe even the world, so it seemed like a logical starting point for souvenirs. Armed with her water bottle, rickety wooden hand fan, and gimped umbrella, Momalot figured she was ready to brave the market.

IMG_2212

Pink, gimped umbrellas: so hot right now.

Turns out she underestimated the beast that is Chatuchak. The market is comprised of thousands of stalls laid out in a loosely structured grid. Some of the stalls are outside (as in the photo above), but many are inside, in cramped, sweaty rows that barely accommodate two Thais (let alone farangs) trying to pass each other. The whole joint is bathed in a certain ‘eau du garbage’, and the odd rat scampers over the open sewage system.

IMG_2209

But there are many extremely attractive artificial flowers to make up for these deficiencies.

The market does, however, contain basically every item known to man, from clothing to puppies to pirated DVDs, vegetable seeds, fish balls, and photos of the king. Basically, it’s the Thai version of a Walmart. We wandered for what felt like hours between row after row of stalls filled with t-shirts covered in obscene slogans. Good thing Momalot’s vision isn’t as keen as it once was. When it all became too much to process, we stopped for some tasty fried food. The best thing about Thailand/Chatuchak is that calories are never far away.

IMG_2220

Grease bombbbbbbs

IMG_2216

You can’t see it, but my handy styrofoam lunch container is catching the sweat that’s pouring down my face.

While Momalot could handle the rats, obscene t-shirts, and crowds, the heat really did her in. Something about 40C/100% humidity was just a little more than this gal from the Great White North could handle, and she quickly lost interest in shopping.

IMG_2211

The smile was a little forced.

IMG_2215

She tried to persuade these vendors to throw water on her (seriously), but they weren’t biting.

She finally said “screw the souvenirs. Let’s bounce.” Ok, so those weren’t her exact words, but you get the gist of it. After very little prodding, I relented, and we clambered back on the train for the ride back to our galaxy. Once we reached the southern echelons of Bangkok, we decided that our equilibrium could only be recovered by getting pedicures for our nasty, battle weary feet in an air conditioned mall. Don’t worry – we tipped.

IMG_2222

And this smile is real.

IMG_2224

My gorgeous feet against a stylish backdrop of a MEC backpack and a bored boyfriend.

With prettified, extremely exfoliated feet, I was able to more calmly contemplate the Chatuchak experience. I realized that I have visited it approximately every four months since arriving here, because that is how long it takes me to forget the heat and horror of it all. After four months, though, my memory involuntarily resets. So if you ask me in September where you you should go to buy souvenirs, I’ll probably recommend Chatuchak. And I’ll probably volunteer to take you there.

4 thoughts on “Chatuchak Market: organized insanity

  1. Did Momalot find any colourful pashmina scarves? I hate sweating so that market would’ve done me in as well. Sounds like she’s having a great time.

  2. LOL, I took my parents to Chatuchak the first time they came to Bangkok after I moved here (they’d been several times before, but had never gone to JJ). My mother lasted about 30 minutes and said “Enough” and back on the BTS we went to air conditioned MBK. She managed five hours there though and said “Next time, we just come here” 🙂

    I’ve lived in BKK for 10 years, so you forget how hot and humid it can be for westerners not used to the heat, humidity and crowds.

    Love your blog, btw. Hilarious 🙂

    • Haha. I don’t blame your mom! Although I can’t imagine how she lasted for 5 hours in MBK. After the Chatuchak disaster, I didn’t dare take my mom there (or maybe it was just me who didn’t want to brave another shopping trip!).

      Thanks for reading!

What do you think? I dig discussion!

