North Face Khao Yai Trail Race

I hafta tell you all, I was a pretty decent wife to begin with, but my sacrifice this past weekend basically assured my position in the stratosphere of wifely superstardom. For the second time this year, I hauled myself out of bed in the wee hours to cheer at one of T-bone’s races. Neither the fact that this race involved spending a weekend with 15 of our friends in a gorgeous national park nor the fact that I still owe Todd approximately 10hrs of cheering time should detract from the enormity of this sacrifice.

Anything for you, dear.

The race took place in Khao Yai (literally: “big mountain”) national park, an area 2.5 hrs north of Bangkok. The race was put on by North Face, and the main focus of the event was a 100km trail race. North Face also, however, kindly provided a few events for mere mortals: 10, 25, and 50km distances. All the runners from our group signed up for the 10km event, except Cheerleader Michelle, who chose to race the 25km. Cheerleader Michelle has so much energy, though, that 25km to her is like 5km to the average person. Here is a quick visual of her unparalleled perkiness as she heaves our friend Sean into the air:

“So basically you just get your spirit fingers going…”

“and BAM! You start to fly. So easy.”

I wasn’t quite a good enough wife to show up for the start of the race, but I did roll in before the finish. My fellow Super-(almost)Wife Jaime joined me on the sidelines, and we took it upon ourselves to make up for the cheering deficit that seems to be a feature of races in Thailand.

So excited that I’m unexpectedly giving birth.

The start that later became the finish.

Things got pretty exciting pretty quick: would the organizers manage to find the finish line tape before the first runner blasted through? Would the van cruising down the race course realize its mistake before blocking the finish line? Would the children’s dance troupe safely cross the course without getting trampled? And how much swag could spectators safely snag?

And would Todd (with Josh) be able to hide from his wife’s camera behind a bit of safety tape? Negatory.

These were the important questions that we pondered as we waited for the runners. It didn’t take long – first up was Todd’s little running buddy and student, Alex, who showed the adults how its done by coming in 12th in a field of 500. The teachers pushed their aging joints to the max, and while they didn’t quite catch Alex, they posted some very respectable times.

Eli finishing strong. You know that when both the object AND the background are blurry, you have achieved photographic mastery.

Lisa hammers it home. This gal actually takes decent photos, and she was not giving my point’n’click ANY eye contact.

First up after the race was a little breakfast – Pad Thai and fried rice. I don’t know about you, but immediately after I race, fat and spice are two of the last things I feel like eating. Mind over bladder matter, I guess…

Fish sauce and sugar sound pretty awesome, on the other hand.

Meagan, Ali, Therese, and Kim wait for the sweat to dry.

Two fun perks of races in Thailand are the Thai massages offered after the race.

And the inevitable elephants.

All in all, a good morning spent eating Pad Thai and screaming at runners. Such a good wife. Here’s hoping that next year my ankles will work and I, too, can dodge banana-mongers, vans, and child dancers on a gorgeous course.

10 thoughts on “North Face Khao Yai Trail Race

  1. Ditto Allison’s comment! (But did Michelle’s heaving feat involve any photoshopping on your part? Or some other kind of trickery…?)

      • I found your blog some weeks before my 60th bhidrtay, not too long ago! I had already felt the stirrings of rebellion brewing in my psyche because of that SIXTY staring me in the face and yet today all the stereotypes it entails, and then I happened across your blog and the wonderful ladies and gentlemen featured in it. Now, instead of saying to myself “I could never wear that” I am saying “hmmmm, let’s try that on and check it out”; and instead of saying “I could never do that” I am saying instead “what’s the worst that could happen if you do this – or that?” Well, I could end up broke and fighting the cats for alley food in my 80’s – but on the other hand… Asking myself these questions had pretty much left my radar; now, I’m blipping all the time 🙂

  2. Pingback: Thailand is a Cowboy’s Paradise | The Facetious Farang

  3. No idea who you all are but am loving reading your blog! I am looking forward to reading back through everything. Keep up the great work. I am running my first 10km race in a few months – fingers crossed I will make it!

  4. Pingback: Kanchanaburi: The Bridge on the River Kwai and flesh nibbling fish | The Facetious Farang

What do you think? I dig discussion!

