Foodie Fridays: Doughnuts/Donuts!

This Foodie Friday post will be dedicated to one of Thailand’s main food groups. While fruit and vegetables are important, doughnuts* form the cornerstone of the typical Thai diet. This emphasis on fried dough has really helped me feel at home – doughnuts are a critical piece of Canada’s infrastructure, and are, in fact our primary industry. If Tim Horton’s ever collapses, so too will the Canadian economy.

nyc-variety-pack-large (1)

Oh, Canada!

I have to admit that I was a little surprised to discover the importance of doughnuts in Bangkok. In Canada, I think the need for fat and dough is imprinted on our genetic code due to our short growing season. I can just picture an ancient Mennonite family on the prairies: “Quick, little Hans,  heat the lard! We must make enough doughnuts to sustain us through the long winter.”

Thailand can’t claim the lack of a growing season – apparently they just know a good thing when they taste it. And that’s fine by me.

In my extensive** experience, there are two main doughnut chains in Bangkok: Dunkin’ Donuts and Mister Donut.

Dunkin’ employees diggin’ the Americana theme

Patriotic Cute Texas Beth is a proud supporter of Bangkok’s doughnut industry, y’all

Mister Donut is usually located next door to Dunkin’ Donuts. So far, it’s winning in my books because its chocolate cake donut is far superior to the one that Dunkin’ Donuts makes.

Mister Donut’s chocolate is rockin’ my world

In the name of research, I conducted this test several times. I may be forced to re-conduct it in the future.

There are other donut chains such as Yamizaki which produce variations on the doughnut theme.

Just yer basic self-serve doughnut joint

Supermarkets dig them too, as demonstrated by the treasure trove that I found while grocery shopping.

Ahhh. I could swim in this sea of doughnuts

I had already conducted extensive research that day, so I didn’t indulge in this 4 Baht ( around 15 cents) gold mine.

Besides the basics, Bangkok has really enhanced the options available to doughnut connoisseurs. Here are some of the options that my research uncovered:

The – and I quote – “Wiener Doughnut”

Variation on “The Wiener Doughnut”

Doughnut pizza

Doughnut sandwich. The main ingredients appear to be lettuce and mayonnaise

Mini doughnut-things for charity

And finally, if you had any doubt about what you can do with doughnuts, here are a few suggestions, courtesy of Mister Donut:

Doughnuts can be used for everything from demonstrating true love to encouraging male bonding

Clearly, Thailand has adopted the doughnut and raised the stakes. Canada must adapt if it hopes to compete. I’m off to conduct more research…

* “Doughnuts” or “donuts.” Take your pick. I have to stick with the former or I’ll hear about it from my mother, who is simultaneously the person who birthed me and the perma-editor in my head.

** Within a 2-mile radius of our apartment

17 thoughts on “Foodie Fridays: Doughnuts/Donuts!

  1. Has your investgation led you to an Aunty Annie’s where thhey serve up the most decadent cinnamon and sugar coated soft pretzels (common variation of the doughnut)?

  2. Funny that this Foodie Friday featured donuts. I had a recent discussion with an American about popular food groups. In California the land of the body concious it is “fro-yo” (or in Canadian frozen yogurt). In Canada I told her it is hands down donuts. Actually “Tim Hortons Donuts”. She had sadly never heard of this specific type of food group. Oh these poor fat deprived Californians ;).

    Also, I forgot to mention in your last Foodie post… have you ever seen/tried Yartsa Gunbu? It is from Tibet but is all the rage in China right now. Not sure if it has hit the markets of Thailand yet. I won’t go into what it is used for but let’s just say I’ve heard it’s better than oysters!

    Hope you are doing well!

    Jane

    • Poor fat deprived Californians! They may be fit, but they are probably totally depressed with life. Fat makes everything better.

      Haven’t heard of Yartsa Gunbu, but I will keep an eye out for it. Why do I get the feeling that you are trying to get me to eat something disgusting… 🙂

  3. I am sad. This post is a true donut-lover’s delight, and I am not one. A donut lover, that is. I can be a delight if I feel so inclined. I am Dutch and lack the donut gene, but having lived in the US for many years you’d think I’d have grown that gene, but I guess it doesn’t work that way.

    Why do I not care for donuts? All I taste is sweet, sweet, sweet. Clearly I am handicapped by a defective palate that is not able to register, identify and appreciate the various subtleties of the flavorings and colorings and chemicals that make up the complicated structure of the donut confections.

    The photo’s are lovely, but sadly, they do not make me salivate. Oh, and just for your information, the Dutch may not do donuts, but they do oliebollen, literally “oil balls” and they’re yummy. Just look at this photo: http://tinyurl.com/cqy4f96

    • Hahaha. I don’t think there is anything subtle about the common donut! You are right – they are just sweet, sweet, sweet, and I’ve definitely met lots of Dutch people who don’t like them. I wish I didn’t!

      I love oliebollen! My father makes them every New Year’s, and I would agree that they are much tastier than the common donut.

  4. I have yet to taste anything as good as Krispee Kreme doughnuts hot off the press – yum! And it isn’t just the sweetness that makes doughnuts so good – it’s the FAT!
    (Olliebollen are also very good, just a little different.)

  5. This whole conversation is making me hungry. I think that I’ll use my $20.00 Tim card and go to Tim’s and by a dozen for myself. When I feel good and guilty I’ll take my anti cholesterol pills. I’ll do my part to keep the Canadian economy going.
    Trivia. Did you know that the first Tim Horton’s donut shop is located on Ottawa Street South in Hamilton Ontario? Just eight blocks north of the Hamilton mountain.

      • Just laugh. Mom and I were one and a half hours early to pick up Sarah from the airport so we decided to go to a Tim Hortons on Mckn ight Blvd, but theyve closed off Barlow Trail. We stayed at the airport parking lot and spent 18 dollars in parking fees so that we could kill time. I ended up reading a novel while Corrine took a long nap. We spent 30 minutes in front of a Tims at the airport. There was one person manning the place and this one family spent about a half hour waiting in line. I want to help the economy, but I don’t want to reward incompetence. I’m not that desperate for a Tims. Enough about Tim lets talk about Col. Chicken.
        Corne

        • brutal! Doughnut places in Thailand have the opposite problem – so many employees that they trip over each other. I’ve never had so much help choosing junk food.

  6. I murmured sympathetically several times while reading this article. The assortment of pictures hammered the point home. Donuts are wonderful. What a bunch of fried treasures! Stick with the Foodie Fridays theme. It gives continuity/structure! Do you want more readers? I could post links to the blog on fb.

    • Yes, what a bunch of fried treasures 🙂 The only problem is that Bangkok is full of a multitude of fried treasures – Todd brought home a bag full of deep fried bananas yesterday – and I’m concerned that we will soon start physically resembling fried treasures. Yeah, if you’re up for posting the link, go for it! Thanks!

What do you think? I dig discussion!

